My People of the Press

Journalism wasn’t my major. Journalism wasn’t my passion. Journalism wasn’t the reason I stayed up working into the wee hours of the morning. Journalism just wasn’t.

Then, quite a few important people changed that. Then a few more… and a few more. These incredible people, who have so strongly influenced my career path, are always the ones asking the questions. It’s about time for the interviewers to become the interviewees.

I want to know who inspired the people who inspire me. I want to ask them the questions they’re so used to asking others. I want to know who they are behind the on-camera makeup and newsprint.

That’s exactly what this project is: A collection of interviews, photos, Q&A’s and more, with the journalists who have helped me finally find my niche.

I don’t want to say my goal for this project is ultimately to interview the hosts of the TODAY Show. That makes it sound as if there is a chance that it may not happen.

I WILL interview the hosts of the TODAY Show. It may not be this semester, this year, or even while I am still a student at Fredonia; but it will happen.

Journalism is so much more than my major. Journalism is my passion. Journalism is the reason I stay up working into the wee hours of the morning. Journalism just is.

*One day, I will have my own office. When I have that office, I will be sure to share a ridiculous number of photos of myself in it with each and every person who sticks with me throughout my journey. For now, I leave you with this Comic Book-filtered, Photo Booth selfie I took in the office that I currently work in (shout-out to the staff of Hemingway Hall). Photo on 11-4-14 at 1.39 PM

Leave a Reply

