Confessions of a Workaholic

“Choose a job you love, and you will never have to work a day in your life.” – Confucius

My dad has probably reiterated these words to me 1,008 times. I always knew what he meant, I could just never really figure what I love. I have never had a job that I didn’t love at least a little bit, even if that was just the actual thought itself of working.

I have essentially been employed since I turned 16: feeding barn animals, selling jewelry and busing tables. I have done it all.

I thrive on the thought of having a jam-packed schedule every day. I love waking up in the morning and having to scroll through my calendar to be able to see all the things I have to do for the day. Free time drives me nuts and remaining stationary for more than five minutes makes me twitchy.

The world moves far too quickly. If you can’t keep up, you will get walked all over.

Journalism is quite literally the following of the world. Perhaps matched only by the stock market,  it changes and moves quicker than just about any other professional. You’re reporting what the people need to know as timely as possible.

One minute, you’re covering a middle school soccer game. The next, you’re running across town to a house fire.

If you’re late with a story, you won’t get readers. If you don’t get readers, the paper doesn’t make any money. If the paper doesn’t make any money, you don’t have a job.

The work never stops and, to be completely honest, I love it. I thrive on it.

Of course there are days where I want to stop, where I want to slow down and take a breather. Even on days where I do get to take some time off from working, I’m still thinking about it. I can’t tell you how many times my world has just come crashing down around me all at once, because that’s how it has to happen.

I am the definition of a workaholic.

2. You’re either incredibly organized or a talented hot mess.

(I haven’t met anyone who understands how my life can be so organized and my bedroom always looks like a bomb hit it.)

6. You know everyone.

(I can’t walk across campus without being stopped by everyone from administrators to classmates. The sad thing is that each one knows me from a different club, class or workplace.)

12. You also get annoyed when people don’t work as hard.

(I can’t stand lazy people; you know, the ones who spend all day in bed and skip their classes whenever they feel like it. HOW aren’t you in at least one extracurricular, or something!?)

13. You’re driven.

‘You know you have limited time and there are too many things you want to get accomplished in that time. People call you crazy, but you know that deep down, you’re doing what’s best for you.’

(See how I ended up a journalist?)

Leave a Reply

